Is Gluten-Free

Caramel is Color Gluten-Free?

Truly, caramel color in North America is typically gluten-free, although you should read labels just no doubt.

Caramel is Color Gluten-Free
Caramel is Color Gluten-Free

According to celiac disease master Tricia Thompson, MS, RD, of Gluten-Free Dietitian, caramel color is an additive made by heating any number of carbohydrates, which could incorporate dextrose, reverse sugar, lactose, malt syrup, molasses, starch hydrolysates (like glucose syrup) and sucrose. In North America, wheat is typically not utilized as a starting fixing in caramel coloring. Instead, corn is generally utilized in the U.S. On the off chance that wheat is utilized in caramel coloring, the label must say so per the Food Allergen Labeling and Consumer Protection Act (FALCPA). In general, if caramel coloring is remembered for a fixings label, yet doesn’t list wheat as an allergen, it ought to be safe for individuals with celiac disease or gluten affectability.

READ ALSO:   Yeast is Gluten-Free & not Gluten-Free
Philip Okoye
the authorPhilip Okoye
Your favorite recipe author, faithful to every course. Mail me at

Leave a Reply