Is Gluten-Free

Cider is Gluten-Free

Alcoholic “hard” cider is almost always naturally gluten-free. Cider, or “hard” cider, is an alcoholic beverage made from natural products, typically apples. A decent alternative to gluten-containing brews, hard cider is made by maturing apple or other natural product juices with sugar and yeast. While yeast can at times contain gluten when it’s a side-effect of brewing lager (at that point sold as “Brewer’s yeast”), the yeast utilized in cider fermentation is typically naturally gluten-free. In nations outside the United States, alcoholic cider may basically be called “cider.”

Cider is Gluten-Free
Cider is Gluten-Free

However, always be vigilant for different additives or flavorings that may contain gluten. Cider may also be prepared in a facility or with hardware that is utilized to brew or container lager or other gluten-containing beverages. In the event that the jug or container doesn’t have a gluten-free label, it’s worth dedicating time to additionally research before drinking.
Additionally, please don’t befuddle alcoholic apple cider with apple ale or other similarly labeled beverages, which are brews containing apple flavoring.

READ ALSO:   Quinoa is Gluten-Free

Varieties of Cider:

Hard Cider isn’t restricted to apples and can also be made from pineapples, berries, pears (called “perry”), different organic products, or can include a blend of apple and natural product or seasonal flavorings. As alcoholic cider is an ancient traditional beverage, there are many regional specialties and flavor profiles available.

Philip Okoye
the authorPhilip Okoye
Your favorite recipe author, faithful to every course. Mail me at

Leave a Reply