Is Gluten-Free

Corn is Gluten-Free

Table Of Contents

Indeed, corn in its natural structure is gluten-free. However, be watchful for gluten in corn that arrives in a sauce or with any different fixings, as they could contain the protein. Regardless of the sort of corn you purchase, always twofold check the fixings label to make sure the item is genuinely gluten-free. Find support on reading nourishment labels here.

Corn is Gluten-Free
Corn is Gluten-Free

Different Types of Corn

There are different variations of corn that can be eaten on a gluten-free diet. Along with plain corn, individuals with celiac disease normally ask if the follow are gluten-free:

  • Cornstarch
  • Corn flour
  • Hominy
  • Cornmeal


Cornstarch is gluten-free in its natural structure. Cornstarch is made by crushing the starchy (carbohydrate) segment of a corn grain and transforming it into an extremely fine powder. Cornstarch is typically utilized as a thickener for soups, sauces, gravy and stews. It’s also utilized in pre-made gluten-free flour mixes because it creates a smoother surface.

Corn Flour

Much the same as corn starch, corn flour is gluten-free in its natural structure. It has a light, better surface when utilized in baked products. Whenever conceivable, purchase corn flour that is labeled gluten-free, as it is workable for cross-contact to happen during the manufacturing procedure.

READ ALSO:   Caramel is Color Gluten-Free?


Cornmeal is also gluten-free. Cornmeal is a coarse flour made from maize, (for example corn). Much the same as cornflour, it’s important to search for labeled gluten-free cornmeal whenever conceivable, as cross-contact can easily happen during manufacturing.


Hominy is a result of corn and is gluten-free. Hominy is made from dried corn bits which are then soaked in a lime bath or lye bath. It’s utilized in many various items, similar to tortillas, for example.


While popcorn is naturally gluten-free, it can contain additives or flavorings with gluten. Popcorn itself is made from corn pieces which are heated until they “pop.” Certain fixings are then added, for example, margarine, salt, and flavors, and a portion of these additives can contain malt flavorings, soy sauce, or zest mixes that have gluten. Normally, it’s easy to read the fixings and decide whether the popcorn is gluten-free, however on the off chance that there is any disarray over things like starches and flavorings, please call the manufacturer before devouring it.
Different occasions, for example, at games, cinemas, fairs, or anywhere with a popcorn machine, it tends to be hard to decide the exact fixings. In these cases, it’s ideal to ask inquiries regarding how the popcorn is prepared, how frequently the machine is cleaned, and what the fixings in the margarine and different flavorings are before expending. On the off chance that you cannot obtain a clear answer, it’s frequently best to not eat⁠—however that choice is ultimately yours to make.
Finally, popcorn can be made safely at home utilizing your own machine and fixings. Small-popcorn machines are easily obtainable, and you can make fascinating custom flavors, or simply great old spread and salt!

READ ALSO:   Cider is Gluten-Free

Celiac Disease Symptoms after Eating Corn

Do you have an inclination that you’ve been glutened after you eat corn or corn items? Assuming this is the case, first check the items that you are eating. Is there a shrouded wellspring of gluten? What about the way it was prepared? Could cross-contact have happened? On the off chance that the answers are indeed, quit eating that item, drink a lot of water and rest as much as you can until you feel good. Make certain to check in with your primary care physician, especially if your indications aren’t leaving.
In the event that you are certain that the corn or corn item you ate did notcontain gluten, you could have a corn allergy or affectability. Talk to your PCP or an enlisted dietitian knowledgeable of celiac disease. They will be best able to assist you with making sense of in the event that you are delicate to corn.
According to the American College of Allergy, Asthma and Immunology, a corn allergy can be hard to diagnose, since skin prick tests cannot differentiate between allergies to grass dusts and to different seeds and grains.
Corn allergy side effects can include:

  • Nausea
  • Heaving
  • Cramping
  • Diarrhea
  • Acid reflux

All of these side effects can be caused by gluten presentation. That’s why it’s important to have professional help in deciding whether your issues are originating from a corn allergy or gluten introduction. Gluten presentation over extensive stretches of time can cause genuine long haul health issues, similar to osteoporosis, other autoimmune diseases and even certain cancers. Your PCP can assist you with seeing whether you are being presented to gluten by checking the same antibody levels that the celiac disease blood test checks.

Philip Okoye
the authorPhilip Okoye
Your favorite recipe author, faithful to every course. Mail me at

Leave a Reply