Not Gluten-Free

Couscous is not Gluten-Free

No, couscous isn’t gluten-free.

Couscous is not Gluten-Free
Couscous is not Gluten-Free

Notwithstanding its rice-like appearance, couscous is made from semolina, which is a granule of durum wheat. In this way, it isn’t gluten-free. Couscous is normally mistaken for being gluten-free. In the event that you see this recorded on a gluten-free menu in a restaurant, Beyond Celiac encourages you to consider deciding on an alternate restaurant.
While different grains/grain-based dishes recorded – risotto, brown rice and buckwheat noodles – are gluten-free in their naturalform, it is as yet important to guarantee that safe gluten-free preparation forms have been followed. Be extra cautious when requesting a dish with buckwheat noodles. Although buckwheat is naturally gluten-free, the noodles may have been made utilizing wheat flour. Additionally, cross-contact can happen during the processing and manufacturing procedures of grains in general, so you may want to avoid these at a restaurant, except if the culinary specialist can affirm a labeled or (preferably) guaranteed gluten-free brand is utilized. When choosing these alternatives from a menu, individuals with celiac disease ought to ask inquiries concerning the utilization of other cooking fixings that may be a wellspring of gluten, (for example, bouillon, soups and roux or flour for thickening) as well as preparation practices, (for example, bubbling gluten-free nourishments in the same water as wheat-based pasta). Rice pilaf mixes are not always made in house however are a pre-packaged blend that can contain gluten in the seasoning or even wheat berries or barley. Make certain to ask about the fixings and preparation of the side dish when rice pilaf is recorded on the menu.
Keep in mind – when in question, do without

READ ALSO:   Freekeh is not Gluten-Free
Philip Okoye
the authorPhilip Okoye
Your favorite recipe author, faithful to every course. Mail me at

Leave a Reply